Vivado License Ubuntu 14.04 Zeroed NIC Interface problem

During the Activation (License management) of Vivado HLx 2016.2 I encounterd a problem where I could copy the license (received via email), however when viewing license information, I couldn’t find my license.

I checked the host information and found that the Network Interface Card ID was zeroed.
Screen Shot 2016-10-03 at 3.40.45 PM.png

I think a possible reason is because from some point in Ubuntu, they followed Redhat’s convention for the nic names. The NIC names used to be ethX, but now they are emX because the NICs I use are embedded onto the mainboard.

I found that the module that changes the name is biosdevname and can be disabled by setting biosdevname=0 in the linux bootup parameters.

A Stackoverflow Q&A discusses this problem, and we can either:

I decided to try the grub option.

If you use static IP setting, and use /etc/network/interfaces, don’t forget to update your settings before resetting. (You won’t be able to log on, or the system will delay the boot for 60 seconds to try to get connectivity)

This issue is also reported on the Xilinx Forums, however I’m not sure if there is a fix going on.

 

Leave a Reply

